The Nonexistant Cheering

Recently I attended the Portland Winter Hawks game as a work perk.

I invited 4 of my friends.

12244662_10208302555105274_4944574155834164406_oSo, there we were walking in with beers in our hands, laughing and shouting as we sat down… In my work section. All the comp tickets were purchased as a group! As we scoped out our seats it was dead silent.

How are you silent at a hockey game!? There is pushing, there is fighting and there are goals. It’s awesome and it’s loud. Let’s make some noise!

But, my section was quite different. There was one couple holding hands the guy is wearing a blue polo shirt and the girl is in fancy heels. A group of guys all drinking beers in silence staring at their phones. Then there was us. We’re in the middle of everyone being “that” group.

No one cheered. It was awkward.

But that’s the life of a computer geek I guess. And now the rumors are confirmed that there is no difference in behavior between the silence at work and the silence in their free time.

I am getting more and more used to it because work always seems to be quiet and a little awkward. So, I stuck with it and we made the most of it!

By the end I was talking to the guy next to me, a co-worker, about hockey. I like to take it upon myself to force people into situations where they have to talk to me. So, in my book MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

And the Portland Winter Hawks Won, so it’s a win win!

What are your work party and perk stories? I look forward to hearing yours below in the comment section.

Banner image retrieved from: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e9/Tor_chi_94.jpg

Leave a comment